Celebration of Leaders in Education

AWC honors La Paz County graduates

May 17, 2024

Parker, AZ (May 17, 2024) – Arizona Western College recently celebrated the achievements of La Paz County degree and certificate recipients on Thursday, May 9.

Students were honored with a certificate of recognition for their dedication to higher education during the Celebration of Leaders in Education event at the Parker Community Center in La Paz County.

AWC President Dr. Daniel Corr spoke during the event as well as Associate Dean for La Paz County Randy Hartless and Entrepreneurial College Chief Executive Officer and Vice President of Workforce & Healthcare Programs Reetika Dhawan. They spoke of the tremendous accomplishments of the students and the partnerships fostered in helping students obtain higher education through degree and certificate programs. Through the impact of the Entrepreneurial College, the number of students getting recognized this year has doubled through new certificate and training programs offered in La Paz County like Fiber Optics, EMT, and the Detention Officer Training Academy.  
Awardees included Steffany Palma for the Dedication to Higher Education Award and Brenda Diarte and Abel Garcia for the Outstanding Student Achievement Award. Jaisveen Kaur, who is a Parker High School senior, was also recognized for completing her Associate in Arts degree and Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate while in high school and for being the recipient of four scholarships from AWC. 

The first-ever La Paz Student Showcase was also held during this event coordinated by Yaneli Pasillas-Miller, Director of Outreach and Special Program. Four students presented their projects and were awarded scholarships: Marilyn Guzman, Jaisveen Kaur, Felipe Zavala, and Kali Yazzie. 

“I would like to thank Dr. Ellen Riek for helping us coordinate this event and making it possible! Also, a big thank you to Bryan Doak, Reetika Dhawan, and Dr. Kathellen Iudicello for providing $2,500 in scholarships for the La Paz Student Showcase. Our students put in great dedication for their projects and were happy to be recipients of scholarships to further their education,” said Pasillas-Miller.

A dinner reception was held during the event with students’ friends and family present who supported them on their educational journey. 

Associate Degree 

Emily De Leon
Marilyn Guzman
Jaisveen Kaur
CJ Markel
Steffany Palma
Certified Nurse Assistant
Certificate Candidates

Alyssa Ameelyenah
Aida Cuadras
Marilyn Guzman
Samantha Jackson
Karina Jimenez-Lemos
Estephania Rodriguez
Amber Stewart
Arizona General Education 
Curriculum (AGEC) Candidates 

Emily De Leon
Marilyn Guzman
Jaisveen Kaur
Steffany Palma
Mya Ramirez
Atianna Shortey
Early Childhood Education 
Certificate Candidate

Carolyn Huffman
Professional IT Certificate 

Felipe Zavala

Fiber Optics
Certificate Candidates 

Gerry Balous
Michael Breazzeal
Nick Paul Daniels
Stephen Janusewski
Daviante Jones
Kimberly Mayo
Morlan McCowan
Ryan Milazzo
Jesus Pasillas-Miller
Cristian Ramirez
Joel Sanchez
Wuilliams Gama
Detention Officer 
Training Academy

Katarina Gonzalez
Crystal Green
Jonathan Montoya
Shane Moss
Lizette Munoz
Angelic Robledo
Pedro Trejo
Francisco Valdivia
Advanced EMT Program             

Kimberly Corona
Jeffrey Anderson
Armando De Leon
Britteny Dwiggins
Tanner Irwin
Tyler Kowalski
Brandon McConnell
Chase Rather
Michael Terriquez
Jerit Thurman
Jensen Wolfe

High School Diploma
Equivalency Recipients

Brenda Diarte
Siobhan Edelbrock
Abel Garcia
Davina Leivas
Adan Munoz

Basic EMT Program 

Alliye Bertling
Zitlally Corona
Tyler Eddy
Juan Guevara
Chad Hinkley
Whitney Lopez
Gianni Martinez
Destinie Miller
Jack Moss
Adrian Pulido
Angelica Robledo
Angela Salazar
Irvin Sharp
Zariah Tahbo
Ian Weatherford
Shaun Welch
High School 
Student Recognition

Alyssa Ameelyenah
Lacey Byrd
Adriana Christensen
Samantha Jackson
Cadence James
Jaisveen Kaur
Atianna Shortey
Kali Yazzie

Yaneli Pasillas-Miller
Director of Outreach and Special Programs, English Professor
Arizona Western College