View Site Map!
a b c d e f g h i j k l m
n o p q r s t u v w x y z

+ Athletics 




Reggie Bullock Named 2010 NJCAA Football Player of the Year
Jim Howell
Dec. 20th, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Dec. 20, 2010) – The NJCAA’s leading rusher along with one of the highest ranking players in tackles and sacks this season have been selected as the 2010 NJCAA Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year. The selections were released today (Dec. 20) by NJCAA Headquarters on behalf of the NJCAA Football Coaches Association.

Arizona Western College sophomore running back Reggie Bullock has been awarded the offensive honors, while Butler Community College (Kan.) defensive end Cornellius Carradine was named the winner of the defensive award.

The 2010 season marks the 21st consecutive year that the NJCAA Football Coaches Association has selected a player of the year. Since 2000, an award has been given to both an offensive and defensive player.

Reggie Bullock
Running Back (5-9, 180 lbs.)
Arizona Western College

Bullock has arguably been one of the most productive and consistent offensive players in the NJCAA for the past two seasons. His production helped lead the Matadors to back-to-back Western States Football League titles and two bowl appearances. He twice earned Offensive Player of the Year honors in the WSFL and was a First-Team NJCAA All-American selection this season after receiving Second-Team honors as a freshman.

The 2010 season saw Bullock lead the NJCAA in rushing yards (1,830), rushing yards per game (152.5), rushing touchdowns (20) and scoring (132 pts – 22 total TDs). He also caught 16 passes out of the backfield for 170 yards and two additional touchdowns.

Bullock rushed for over 100 yards in all 12 games he played this season with his best performance coming on Nov. 13th when he racked up 232 yards on a season-high 36 carries along with a touchdown in a 34-14 win over Scottsdale (Ariz.).

A native of Las Vegas, Nev., Bullock has had an impressive two years at AWC. He leaves the Matador program after amassing 3,247 rushing yards, 43 total touchdowns and 40 rushing touchdowns. He rushed for over 100 yards in 21 out of 22 games he played in and gained over 200 yards in a game three times.

Bullock has yet to decide where he will continue his education and football career, but is being recruited by Illinois, Kansas State, New Mexico State, North Texas, Oregon State, San Diego State and Utah State according to JC

Cornellius Carradine
Defensive End (6’5”, 257 lbs.)
Butler Community College (Kan.)

Carradine was the Defensive Player of the Year in the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference and a First-Team NJCAA All-American selection this year. He helped lead Butler to a KJCCC and Region 6 title as well as a berth in the 2010 NJCAA Football Championship Game (Citizen’s Bank Bowl).

The Cincinnati, Ohio, native led the KJCCC with 120 tackles (4th in NJCAA) and 16 sacks (T-2nd in NJCAA). He also had 20 tackles for loss (7th in NJCAA), two forced fumbles and four fumble recoveries, including one returned for a touchdown.

Carradine was the leader of a Butler defense that held opponents to a mere 9.5 points per game and 227.5 yards of offense during the regular season. He twice earned NJCAA Defensive Player of the Week honors this season and his best performance of 2010 came in a 35-12 win over Garden City on Oct. 2 when he was credited with 19 tackles (14 solo), including five tackles for loss and a sack.

Carradine is the third defensive player from Butler since 2006, and fourth overall, to be selected as the NJCAA Football Player of the Year (Rudi Johnson – 1999; Austin Parker – 2006; Markus White – 2008). His honor also marks the fifth consecutive year that a player from the KJCCC has been named either the offensive or defensive NJCAA Football Player of the Year.

Carradine was eligible to sign during the early period last week. He will follow in the footsteps of former Butler defensive end and 2007 NJCAA Football Player of the Year Markus White and play the remainder of his collegiate career at Florida State University.

Previous NJCAA Players of the Year Selections
Year Player Pos. College, State
1990 John Kaleo QB Montgomery College, Md.
1991 Kalin Hall RB Dixie State College of Utah
1992 Russell Evans QB Northwest Mississippi Community College
1993 Roger Cook QB Dixie State College of Utah
1994 Chris Windsor QB Garden City Community College, Kan.
1995 Fred Taylor QB Hinds Community College, Miss.
1996 Rodrick Johnson RB Dixie State College of Utah
1997 Frank Murphy RB Garden City Community College, Kan.
1998 Terrance Williams RB Hinds Community College, Miss.
1999 Rudi Johnson RB Butler County Community College, Kan.
2000 Marc Dunn QB Ricks College, Idaho
Dustin Looman DL Rochester Community & Technical College, Minn.
2001 Rashad Armstrong RB Mesa Community College, Ariz.
Randy Jackson DE Georgia Military College
2002 Kelvin Hayden WR Joliet Junior College, Ill.
Jamaal Jackson DB Northwest Mississippi Community College
2003 Emmanuel Marc RB Hudson Valley Community College, N.Y.
Larry Kendrick DB Pearl River Community College, Miss.
2004 Jimmy Oliver QB Pearl River Community College, Miss.
Mickey Pimental LB Pima Community College, Ariz.
2005 Jimmy Oliver QB Pearl River Community College, Miss.
Jonathon Batson FS Cisco Junior College, Texas
2006 Cade Cooper QB Snow College, Utah
Austin Panter LB Butler Community College, Kan.
2007 Jocques Crawford RB Cisco Junior College, Texas
Markus White DE Butler Community College, Kan.
2008 Terrance Cain QB Blinn College, Texas.
Eugene Kinlaw DL Hutchinson Community College, Kan.
2009 Jasmin Hopkins RB Fort Scott Community College, Kan.
Brad Graham LB Navarro College, Texas
2010 Reggie Bullock RB Arizona Western College
Cornellius Carradine DE Butler Community College, Kan.

The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) is the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering endless athletic and academic opportunities to college students. It is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states. Each year over 50,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and nine football bowl games each year. For more visit

Mark Krug
NJCAA Director of Sports Information &
Media Relations
Phone: 719.590.9788 ext. 284

This message has been generated from the NJCAA



Next 10 entries »
Past Releases        Pub. Date
Squeak out a win Aug 30th 2015
Starting Point Aug 26th 2015
Building Champions Aug 21st 2015
Tough Loss Aug 21st 2015
Jack of all trades Aug 4th 2015
Open to all Aug 3rd 2015
Hard Work Pays Off Jul 20th 2015
Three's Company Jul 20th 2015
Winning Transition Jul 9th 2015
High Marks Jun 29th 2015


Next 10 entries »

Future Students | Current Students | Distance Education | Community Partners | AWC Foundation
About AWC | Admissions | Financial Aid | Online Services | Athletics | Student Life | Employment
 © 2015 Arizona Western College Disclaimers | EEOC | Site Map | Comments