View Site Map!
a b c d e f g h i j k l m
n o p q r s t u v w x y z
Phi Theta Kappa
BlackboardWeb AdvisorAWC Email


+ Phi Theta Kappa 


Icon Web Advisor WebAdvisor/Register
Icon Class Schedule Schedule of Classes
Academic Library Academic Library
Course Catalog Icon Course Catalog
Tuition Icon Tuition & Fees
Blackboard Icon Blackboard
Directory Icon Directory
Webmail Icon Webmail
Webmail Icon Help

All USA/All State Academic Team

Each year the AWC Honors Council recommends two AWC students to represent the College in the ALL USA competition facilitated and sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society for the Two Year College, and USA Today.

Arizona is one of the most generous states regarding the All State Scholarship.  The three major Arizona universities (NAU, ASU, and Univ. of Arizona) currently agree to provide tuition waivers for four semesters to two students from every Arizona community college - that is, to the two students who win the All State (All Arizona) Scholarship.


"The All-USA Academic Team for Community Colleges competition is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the American Association of Community Colleges and USA TODAY. This program recognizes scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of students enrolled in community, technical and junior colleges." (

The Honors Council considers nominee applications with outstanding academic rigor and grade point averages; participation in honors programs; awards, honors and recognition for academic achievement, and service to the college community.

There is ONE single application, available at in the early fall of each year, that covers many scholarships, including the All USA/All State Scholarship.

Students complete the application entirely online.  The deadline is sometime in mid-November; the deadline is firm.  In order to be eligible for the scholarship, students must have their completed applications and other required materials (recommendation letters, transcripts, etc.) submitted digitally to PTK before the deadline.  There are no exceptions.

The centerpiece of the nomination is the 500-word essay describing the nominee's most significant endeavor while attending community college in which the student extended his or her community college education to benefit the school, community or society. Students who have demonstrated leadership and initiative in service learning, who contributed to scholarly research, or who have made lasting contributions to your campus or community may make excellent candidates.  If endeavors are not yet complete, they must be far enough along so that the nominee and advisor can discuss the specifics of work done thus far.


  • Must be enrolled at a community college through December 2015.

  • One also must have a cumulative college-level GPA of 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for all course work with in last five years. If student has been in more than one school all transcripts will be recalculated to determine the cumulative GPA for college-level coursework. GPA evaluation at point of application.

  • Students must be on track to earn an associate's or bachelor’s degree and have a minimum of 36 semester-long college-level credits completed at or transferred to a community college by December 31, 2015. Students must also complete 48 semester-long college level credits by August 31, 2016. Also must have a minimum of 30 semester-long college-level credit hours completed at a community college in past five years.

  • Developmental or remedial coursework, such as pre-algebra or basic writing, will be removed when determining number of cumulative for GPA.

  • If nominated previously that student cannot participate again.

  • Must have a clean community college record showing no probation, suspension or other serious disciplinary action. Nominee must not have a criminal record, and if a convicted felon must have all conditions of sentencing, including probation, completed.

  • Students DO NOT need to be a Phi Theta Kappa member to apply for the All USA/All State Scholarship, but those who are PTK members must also apply for the Guistwhite Scholar Program or come see Nominator for more info on the scholarship. 

Judging and Awards

  • The members of the Arizona Western College Honors Council review the applications and select 2 students to receive the All-Arizona scholarships - full tuition waivers to ASU, NAU, or Univ. of Arizona for 4 semesters.
  • Independent Judges at the national level select 20 members for the first team of USA TODAY ALL-USA academic team.


All applications must be completed and submitted ONLINE by: Dec. 1, 2pm AZ time. 

ONLINE application:

Enrollment key: to come (Arizona Western College)

AWC has had considerable success in placing AWC students among the top in both the Arizona competition as well as on the National Team.

In 2015-2016,

In 2014-2015, Yingli Hillis and Daniel Clevenger were All-USA Academic Team nominees.

In 2013-2014, Sarah Brewer and Barbara Asenjo were All-USA Academic Team nominees.  Sarah Brewer was a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar.

In 2012-2013, Elizabeth Vargas and Joselinne Mora, Academic All-American Nominees.


In 2011-2012, Neenora Khieber and Nicole Northcutt


In 2009-2010, Suyana Lozada, All-Arizona Team 1 and Mary Zuniga, All-Arizona Team 2

In 2008-09, Jennifer Gilbert  All-Arizona Team 1 and Lam Trinh All-Arizona Team 2.

In 2007-08, Eva Olvera,  All-Arizona First Team and Virginia Brindley All-Arizona Second Team. Both have served as PTK chapter presidents at AWC.

In 2006-07,  Bertha Quintero and Maricela Hernandez,  All-Arizona First Team.

In 2005-06, Nancy Hernandez received the top honor-- membership on the All-USA First Team. Lisa Newton was on the All-Arizona Second Team.

In 2004-05, Melissa Magin, All-Arizona Second Team and Katrina Flores 
All-Arizona Third Team.

In 2003-04, Erica Martinez All-Arizona First Team and Abigail Dambeck All-Arizona Second Team.

In 2002-03, Rene Pack and Beth Freeman, All-Arizona Third team.

In 2001-02, Verree Laughlin and Diana Villarreal both placed in the top team (10) of ALL-USA nominees in the State! In the 00/01 school year, Patricia King made the first team for the State of Arizona (top 10) and Jennifer Haug made the third team (top 30)

In 1998-99 Richard Montague All-Arizona Third Team and Ismael Ramirez All-Arizona First team



Future Students | Current Students | Distance Education | Community Partners | AWC Foundation
About AWC | Admissions | Financial Aid | Online Services | Athletics | Student Life | Employment
 © 2016 Arizona Western College Disclaimers | EEOC | Site Map | Comments