View Site Map!
a b c d e f g h i j k l m
n o p q r s t u v w x y z
Header Photo
Faculty Senate
Web Advisor


+ Faculty Senate 


Icon Web Advisor WebAdvisor/Register
Icon Class Schedule Schedule of Classes
Academic Library Academic Library
Course Catalog Icon Course Catalog
Tuition Icon Tuition & Fees
Blackboard Icon Blackboard
Directory Icon Directory
Webmail Icon Webmail
Webmail Icon Help

Welcome to the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the representative body of the Faculty Association, to which all full-time and adjunct faculty belong.

Per the revised Faculty Association Constitution, approved by the AWC District Governing Board in June 2014, the Faculty Association seeks to participate in matters of educational policy at AWC.  Such matters include curriculum, instructional methods, evaluation of instruction, teaching facilities, learning materials for instruction, standards for placement and retention of students, criteria for granting of certificates and degrees, and those aspects of student life that relate directly to the instructional process.

Representatives from each Division are selected at the Division start-up meeting each August and serve on the Faculty Senate through the following election.  Senators may serve multiple terms.

Faculty Association officers are elected each February and take office in May.  These elected officers serve as President and Vice-President of the Faculty Senate, and District Governing Board Representative.  The term for elected officers is one year.

Officers meet regularly with the Dean of Instruction and College President to discuss issues of import to faculty, and the DGB representative also serves on the President’s Council.

Faculty Constitution

2015-2016 Faculty Senate
Division FT Faculty FT Faculty Adjunct Faculty FA Officer
BCIS Amanda Smith Marc LaFond open  
COMM Anne-Marie Thweatt Ellen Riek Aybuke Keehn  
Fine Arts Bill Blomquist Angel Luna Luis Martinez Heidi Lindsey,DGB Rep
Math Ila Peterson Dahwei Chang open  
MOD LANG Steve Lund Martha Martinez open Amelia Bowdell,VP
SCI Paul Koblas Zoe Hawk Mo Garrett  
SOC SCI Brooke Ayars Patty Powers Dubia Zaragoza Monica Ketchum, Pres
CTE Tim Smith Lee Altman open  
Wellness n/a n/a Johannah Elliot  


Future Students | Current Students | Distance Education | Community Partners | AWC Foundation
About AWC | Admissions | Financial Aid | Online Services | Athletics | Student Life | Employment
 © 2016 Arizona Western College Disclaimers | EEOC | Site Map | Comments