PROCEDURE MANUAL

| | | | PROCEDURE 415.3 | |
|----------|-----------------|----------|--------------------------------------|----------|
| 1111 | ARIZONA WESTERN | | Page 1 of 1 | |
| COLLEGE | | | Last Revision Date: | 09-28-06 |
| | | | Effective Date: | |
| Section: | Personnel | Subject: | Frances Morris Endowed Faculty Chair | |
| | | | | |

PURPOSE

The Frances S. Morris Endowed Faculty Chair Program is funded by an endowment established by Frances and Herb Morris with the Arizona Western College Foundation. Frances and Herb Morris are longtime supporters of Arizona Western College. Mrs. Morris served on the District Governing Board for 28 years from 1977 until 2005.

This program is implemented to recognize and reward teaching faculty excellence at Arizona Western College.

PROCEDURE

- 1. An endowed faculty chair is awarded for three years, providing the recipient with an annual stipend funded by interest on the endowment. More than one endowed chair may be named depending upon available funding. The stipend amount may change from time to time based on available revenue. The endowed faculty chair is subject to review after the initial three year award based upon the award eligibility for an endowed chair. Provided the criteria are maintained, the faculty chair endowment may be extended.
- 2. Eligibility for an Endowed Chair
 - 2.1 Evidence of excellence in teaching and student support.
 - 2.2 Evidence of excellence in college advancement through participation in committees, task forces, student activities, partnerships and community outreach.
 - 2.3 Completion of the three-year full-time, non-temporary, probationary period with a minimum of 60% teaching responsibilities.

3. Process for Selection

- 3.1 Nominations may be sent to the attention of the Foundation Executive Director for the Endowed Faculty Chair Program at the Arizona Western College Foundation by a dean or any member of the President's Cabinet.
- 3.2 The Arizona Western College President may name an endowed chair after consultation with the President's Cabinet, Chief Academic officer and the learning services administrators of the nominee's department.